Detroit Pistons Announce NBA G League Franchise "Name The Team" Contest

All fans who submit a name will have a chance to win two season tickets for the inaugural 2021-22 season.

97.1 The Ticket
July 29, 2020 - 1:39 pm

DETROIT, MI -- The Detroit Pistons are asking fans to help name its new NBA G League team that will play on the campus of Wayne State University starting with the 2021-22 season.  Ideas for team names can be submitted at from July 29 to August 11, 2020. 

All fans who submit a name will have a chance to win two season tickets for the inaugural 2021-22 season.

The Detroit Pistons and the NBA G League announced earlier today that the Pistons have purchased the G League’s Northern Arizona Suns affiliate from the Phoenix Suns.  The re-branded franchise in Detroit is slated to begin play during the 2021-22 season.  A record 42 percent of NBA players to start the 2019-20 season had NBA G League experience, a number that rose to 57 percent when the season concluded on March 11.


The franchise will play its 24 home games at a new arena currently being constructed on the campus of Wayne State University.  Season ticket deposits for the 2021-22 season are now being accepted by calling (313) PISTONS or logging on to

The NBA G League season consists of 50 regular-season games plus a postseason and runs traditionally from November to April.

The league had 28 teams for the 2019-20 season: Agua Caliente Clippers, Austin Spurs, Canton Charge, Capital City Go-Go, College Park Skyhawks, Delaware Blue Coats, Erie Bayhawks, Fort Wayne Mad Ants, Grand Rapids Drive, Greensboro Swarm, Iowa Wolves, Lakeland Magic, Long Island Nets, Maine Red Claws, Memphis Hustle, Northern Arizona Suns, Oklahoma City Blue, Raptors 905, Rio Grande Valley Vipers, Salt Lake City Stars, Santa Cruz Warriors, Sioux Falls Skyforce, South Bay Lakers, Stockton Kings, Texas Legends, Westchester Knicks, Windy City Bulls and Wisconsin Herd.

*Visit for full ‘Name the Team’ contest rules and judging criteria. Contest begins at 9:00 AM (ET) on 7/29/20 and ends at 11:59 PM (ET) on 8/11/20.  Operated by Detroit Pistons Basketball Company, LLC.